Home > Composers > Johann Sebastian Bach and the Bach family > The Sons of Johann Sebastian Bach > Wilhelm Friedemann Bach > Collected Works

Johann Sebastian Bach and the Bach family
The Sons of Johann Sebastian Bach
Wilhelm Friedemann Bach
Collected Works
No items in basket

Deutsch als Standard-Sprache auswählenAllemande adopter comme norme

Complete subscription: 20 % discount of the valid retail price.

Partial subscription (volume 1–6 or volume 7–11) 15 % dixount of the valid retail price.

Wilhelm Friedemann Bach – Complete Edition

Edited by the Bach-Archiv Leipzig in the context of the Bach-Repertorium, a research project of the Sächsische Akademie der Wissenschaften zu Leipzig

Wilhelm Friedemann Bach (1710–1784), the eldest son of Johann Sebastian, enjoyed the reputation of an outstanding, but at the same time one of the most independent-minded composers of his age. His work represents the ambitious attempt to absorb the legacy of his father and to develop the taste of his own generation further.

To date, only part of his surviving oeuvre has been published and this frequently in a form which misrepresents the composer. Due to unfavorable circumstances various attempts to publish a Complete Edition (ca. 1913 by Martin Falck and in the 1930s by Max Seiffert) were either not realized or they were broken off at an early stage. Now for the fi rst time the Bach-Archiv Leipzig, supported by the Packard Humanities Institute (Los Altos, California, USA), is publishing the complete surviving works of this eldest son of Bach in a comprehensive edition edited by Peter Wollny.


Volumes of the Complete Edition


1 Piano works I: Sonatas and concerto for harpsichord solo, Concerto for two harpsichords

2 Piano works II: Polonaises, fugues and phantasies for harpsichord solo; Shorter works for one keyboard instrument; Works for mechanical instruments; canons

3 Chamber music: Duets, Solo sonatas and Trio sonatas

4 Orchestral music I: Concertos for harpsichord

5 Orchestral music II: concerto for two harpsichords, Concerto for flute

6 Orchestral music III: Sinfonies

7 Vocal music I: Cantatas for Advent, Christmas and New Year

8 Vocal music II: Cantatas for Easter, Ascension and Whitsun

9 Vocal music III: Cantatas for the Feasts of the Virgin Mary and for the Sundays of the Church Year

10 Vocal music IV: Cantatas for special occasions

11 Vocal music V: Masses and separate movements

Volumes already published


Diese Seite auf deutsch | Cette page-ci en français

[ printer friendly ]



Carus-Verlag GmbH & Co KG | Sielminger Str. 51 | D-70771 LE-Echterdingen | Germany | Impressum | T&C & Right of revocation | Data security | shipping costs