Johann Sebastian Bach: B minor Mass

Johann Sebastian Bach

B minor Mass

BWV 232


New Urtext Edition · Hybrid Edition

Although Bach's Mass in B minor is one of the most frequently performed works by the Cantor of St. Thomas's, it is full of puzzles and problems. This applies not only to the question, still unanswered to this day, of why Bach composed this work, but also to many details of the musical text. That is sufficient reason to present the Mass in B minor for the first time in a "hybrid" version which - linked bar by bar - also presents all the relevant sources to highly revealing effect in a DVD. Further features are still in preparation. As editor the services have been obtained of the highly experienced, renowned Bach and Mozart specialist Ulrich Leisinger.

The new edition
  • offers clear musical text of the invariable Carus quality
  • is not based only on the autograph and the "Dresden parts", but also on early copies, in order to eliminate from the musical text alterations made after 1750
  • includes the latest research findings with editing involving all the sources, the new Urtext edition and the critical report, together with an accompanying DVD
  • makes editorial decisions clearly evident, and is understandable in a way previously unknown
  • with the DVD it provides access to a fascinating event of musical history
  • facilitates rehearsal work by means of carefully prepared material (with music examples).
Also available in carus music, the choir app.


vocal score, XL in large print

184 pages, DIN A4
EUR24,00 / copies

full score, with DVD

312 pages, 25 x 32 cm, clothbound
EUR199,00 / copies

full score

312 pages, 25 x 32 cm, paperback
EUR75,00 / copies

vocal score

184 pages, 19 x 27 cm, paperback
EUR13,50 / copies

vocal score, XL in large print

184 pages, DIN A4
EUR24,00 / copies

choral score

80 pages, DIN A4, without cover
EUR9,95 / copies
Available from 20 copies
from 20 copies 9,95 EUR
from 40 copies 8,96 EUR
from 60 copies 7,96 EUR

study score

312 pages, DIN A5, paperback
EUR17,00 / copies

set of parts, complete orchestral parts

23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR230,00 / copies
  • consisting of
    1 x set of parts, harmony parts, 2 x 2 bassoons, 4 x 3 trumpets and timpani, 1 x flute 1, 1 x flute 2, 1 x horn, 1 x oboe 1, 1 x oboe 2, 1 x oboe 3 (31.232/09)
    each: 85,00 €
    5 x individual part, violin 1 (31.232/11)
    each: 10,00 €
    5 x individual part, violin 2 (31.232/12)
    each: 10,00 €
    4 x individual part, viola (31.232/13)
    each: 10,00 €
    5 x individual part, basso continuo (31.232/14)
    each: 10,00 €
    1 x individual part, organ (31.232/49)
    each: 32,00 €

individual part, organ

72 pages, 23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR32,00 / copies

Product information


Johann Sebastian Bach Personal details