Jan Dismas Zelenka: Magnificat in D

Jan Dismas Zelenka

Magnificat in D

ZWV 108, 1725


The two Magnificat settings (C major, ZWV 107; D major, ZWV 108) are amongst well over 30 psalm and Magnificat settings by Zelenka for Vespers services in Dresden. In contrast to the work in C major, where a soprano solo dominates over long passages, the choir has a more prominent part in this Magnificat in D major. Zelenka also heightened the festive character of the work by later adding parts for 2 trumpets and timpani. Authentic performances of the work are therefore possible with and without trumpets.


full score

48 pages, DIN A4, paperback
EUR13,95 / copies

vocal score

20 pages, 19 x 27 cm, paperback
EUR8,95 / copies

choral score

8 pages, DIN A4, without cover
EUR3,20 / copies
Available from 20 copies
from 20 copies 3,20 EUR
from 40 copies 2,88 EUR
from 60 copies 2,56 EUR

set of parts, complete orchestral parts

23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR57,00 / copies
  • consisting of
    1 x set of parts, harmony parts, 1 x oboe 1, 1 x oboe 2, 3 x trumpet/timpani (40.063/09)
    each: 10,00 €
    5 x individual part, violin 1 (40.063/11)
    each: 2,50 €
    5 x individual part, violin 2 (40.063/12)
    each: 2,50 €
    2 x individual part, viola 1 (40.063/13)
    each: 2,50 €
    2 x individual part, viola 2 (40.063/14)
    each: 2,50 €
    4 x individual part, violoncello/double bass (40.063/15)
    each: 2,50 €
    1 x individual part, organ (40.063/49)
    each: 9,80 €

individual part, organ

12 pages, 23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR9,80 / copies

Product information


Wolfgang Horn Personal details


Jan Dismas Zelenka Personal details


Magnificat in D, Jan Dismas Zelenka

As with other editions by Carus, it is possible to purchase just the choral score in a less expensive version than this full score. The orchestra includes 2 oboes with optional timpani and 2 trumpets in addition to the string and organ. Their music is very active throughout with a mixture of voice doubling and separate contrapuntal lines to enhance the texture. Only a Latin text is given for this 11-minute setting. Within the three movements there are numerous short internal sections with tempi changes. Zelenka was a Prague musician whose music is less common to most directors in America, but he was well respected in Czechoslovakia during his lifetime. […] Good music that is not difficult.

Quelle: The Diapason 9/1990