Johann Sebastian Bach: Dearest Jesus, sore I need Thee

Johann Sebastian Bach

Dearest Jesus, sore I need Thee

Cantata for the 1st Sunday after Epiphany

BWV 32, 1726


The text of the cantata "Dearest Jesus, sore I need Thee" for the 1st Epiphany Sunday 1726 was written by the Darmstadt poet Georg Christian Lehms. It is conceived as a dialog between Jesus and the Faithful Soul. Bach titled his cantata "Concerto in Dialogo" and accordingly, it is structured as a dialog between soprano and bass, set in the voice types that were – not only for Bach – typically used for the soul (soprano) and Jesus (bass). The cantata is based on the narrative of the twelve-year-old boy Jesus in the temple; however, in spite of closely following the gospel text, it is interpreted more widely here: it is through Jesus that the believer finds God’s dwelling. Bach creates a great arch from the opening aria full of yearning and searching through to the joyful duet "Nun verschwinden alle Plagen." He himself added the four-part closing chorale to the text model, thus communicating the sense of joyous certainty to the congregation of believers.


full score

40 pages, DIN A4, paperback
EUR13,95 / copies

vocal score

24 pages, 19 x 27 cm, paperback
EUR6,20 / copies

choral score

2 pages, DIN A4, without cover
EUR1,40 / copies
Available from 20 copies
from 20 copies 1,40 EUR
from 40 copies 1,26 EUR
from 60 copies 1,12 EUR

study score

36 pages, DIN A5, paperback
EUR9,90 / copies

set of parts, complete orchestral parts

23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR49,00 / copies
  • consisting of
    4 x individual part, violin 1 (31.032/11)
    each: 3,50 €
    4 x individual part, violin 2 (31.032/12)
    each: 3,50 €
    3 x individual part, viola (31.032/13)
    each: 3,50 €
    4 x individual part, violoncello/double bass (31.032/14)
    each: 3,50 €
    1 x individual part, oboe (31.032/21)
    each: 3,00 €
    1 x individual part, organ (31.032/49)
    each: 9,80 €

individual part, organ

16 pages, 23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR9,80 / copies

Product information


Hans Grischkat Personal details

Songwriter / Librettist

Georg Christian Lehms Personal details


Johann Sebastian Bach Personal details