Johann Sebastian Bach: My God alone this heart possesses

Johann Sebastian Bach

My God alone this heart possesses

Cantata for the 18th Sunday after Trinity

BWV 169, 1726


Bach's cantata "My God alone this heart possesses" BWV 169 is from his third annual cantata cycle in Leipzig; it was first performed on 20 October 1726 for the 18th Sunday after Trinity. As recent research has shown, the text was written by the Leipzig student, Christoph Birkmann. With the exception of the final chorale, this is a cantata for solo alto with, of course, a rich orchestral scoring consisting of three oboes, obbligato organ and strings. The first purely instrumental movement can be traced back to an instrumental concerto, which has been lost, after Bach had also composed the Keyboard Concerto in E major BWV 1053. The lyrical-vocal highpoint of the cantata is the fifth movement, which is also based on the concerto and it shows off Bach's arranging artistry to the highest degree. Among the movements are an aria-like recitative vocal movement, as well as another aria with an almost virtuoso organ accompaniment.


full score

52 pages, DIN A4, paperback
EUR14,95 / copies

vocal score

32 pages, 19 x 27 cm, paperback
EUR6,60 / copies

choral score

2 pages, DIN A4, without cover
EUR1,95 / copies
Available from 20 copies
from 20 copies 1,95 EUR
from 40 copies 1,76 EUR
from 60 copies 1,56 EUR

study score

52 pages, DIN A5, paperback
EUR10,30 / copies

set of parts, complete orchestral parts

23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR69,50 / copies
  • consisting of
    1 x set of parts, harmony parts, 1 x English horn, 1 x oboe d'amore 1, 1 x oboe d'amore 2 (31.169/09)
    each: 9,80 €
    4 x individual part, violin 1 (31.169/11)
    each: 3,40 €
    4 x individual part, violin 2 (31.169/12)
    each: 3,40 €
    3 x individual part, viola (31.169/13)
    each: 3,40 €
    4 x individual part, basso continuo (31.169/14)
    each: 3,40 €
    1 x individual part, harpsichord (31.169/48)
    each: 12,00 €
    1 x individual part, organ (31.169/49)
    each: 12,00 €

individual part, organ, transposed

24 pages, 23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR14,95 / copies

individual part, organ

24 pages, 23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR12,00 / copies

Product information


Ulrich Bartels Personal details


Robert Scandrett Personal details
Henry Drinker Personal details

Songwriter / Librettist

Christoph Birkmann Personal details


Johann Sebastian Bach Personal details


... Das Layout ist angenehm und praxisnah ...
Kirchenmusik im Bistum Limburg, 2/2019