Johann Sebastian Bach: Welcome joyous festal day

Johann Sebastian Bach

Welcome joyous festal day

Cantata for Trinity Sunday

BWV 194, 1724


The cantata "Höchsterwünschtes Freudenfest" BWV 194 was composed for an organ dedication on 2 November 1723 in Störmthal, Saxony. A year later, and with just a few alterations, the cantata was performed again in Leipzig on Trinity Sunday. Our edition takes this Leipzig version of 1724 as its source. The special occasion of its composition is reflected in the extent of the composition which has twelve, instead of the usual six, movements. The orchestral scoring is for strings and three obbligato oboes. A special feature of the cantata is its structure as an orchestral suite. The beginning is a spirited opening chorus in the style of a French overture. The bass aria in the third movement has the character of a pastorale, and the following aria (movement 5) in turn has the character of a gavotte, etc. A simple four-part chorale concludes this multifaceted composition, marked by some extremely heartfelt moments.

A look inside


full score

80 pages, DIN A4, paperback
EUR32,00 / copies

vocal score

56 pages, 19 x 27 cm, paperback
EUR10,80 / copies

choral score

12 pages, DIN A4, without cover
EUR3,95 / copies
Available from 20 copies
from 20 copies 3,95 EUR
from 40 copies 3,56 EUR
from 60 copies 3,16 EUR

study score

80 pages, DIN A4, paperback
EUR12,95 / copies

set of parts, complete orchestral parts

23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR95,00 / copies
  • consisting of
    1 x set of parts, harmony parts, 1 x oboe 1, 1 x oboe 2, 1 x oboe 3 (31.194/09)
    each: 14,80 €
    4 x individual part, violin 1 (31.194/11)
    each: 5,00 €
    4 x individual part, violin 2 (31.194/12)
    each: 5,00 €
    3 x individual part, viola (31.194/13)
    each: 5,00 €
    4 x individual part, basso continuo (31.194/14)
    each: 5,00 €
    1 x individual part, organ (31.194/49)
    each: 22,50 €

individual part, organ

28 pages, 23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR22,50 / copies

Product information


Tobias Rimek Personal details

Piano reduction by

Angelika Tasler Personal details


Johann Sebastian Bach Personal details