Beethoven: Meeres Stille und Glückliche Fahrt

Ludwig van Beethoven

Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage

op. 112


Beethoven’s Meeres Stille und Glückliche Fahrt (Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage) op. 112 for four-part mixed chorus and symphony orchestra – his setting of a pair of poems by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe – defies straightforward categorization, but can best be described as a choral ode. Beethoven in fact never voyaged by sea, but his composition, premiered in 1815, continues to surprise even today.

He depicted in music the smooth surface of the motionless water and the oppressive calm, which meant nothing other than being becalmed, a delayed voyage, and short rations in the era of sailing, with the same intensity as a freshening increasing wind, with which Aeolus, the God of the winds, ultimately enabled the longed-for "prosperous voyage" to take place. The composed calmness of the motionless sea is conveyed in the low register used throughout, in which the chorus sings the first poem accompanied by washes of pianissimo sounds on the strings. There is a surprising moment with the musical portrayal of the "ungeheuere Weite" (immense breadth), at which the vocal-instrumental writing suddenly crescendos to forte and unfolds into a texture of over five octaves. By contrast "Glückliche Fahrt" is written in restlessly-compiled meters, whose musical setting in flowing movement with diatonic scale passages evokes happy excitement and confidence. The work was dedicated to Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, whom Beethoven greatly admired throughout his life.

The work has now been published in a new critical edition based on the first printed edition and the performance score which Beethoven himself checked and corrected. 


full score

44 pages, paperback
EUR24,90 / copies

vocal score

20 pages, 19 x 27 cm, paperback
EUR10,90 / copies

choral score

8 pages, DIN A4, without cover
EUR3,60 / copies
Available from 20 copies
from 20 copies 3,60 EUR
from 40 copies 3,24 EUR
from 60 copies 2,88 EUR

set of parts, complete orchestral parts

23 x 32 cm
EUR96,50 / copies
  • consisting of
    1 x set of parts, harmony parts, 1 x bassoon 1, 1 x bassoon 2, 1 x clarinet 1, 1 x clarinet 2, 1 x flute 1, 1 x flute 2, 1 x horn 1, 1 x horn 2, 1 x horn 3, 1 x horn 4, 1 x oboe 1, 1 x oboe 2, 1 x timpani, 1 x trumpet 1, 1 x trumpet 2 (10.395/09)
    each: 36,00 €
    6 x individual part, violin 1 (10.395/11)
    each: 3,90 €
    5 x individual part, violin 2 (10.395/12)
    each: 3,90 €
    4 x individual part, viola (10.395/13)
    each: 3,90 €
    3 x individual part, violoncello (10.395/14)
    each: 3,90 €
    2 x individual part, double bass (10.395/15)
    each: 3,90 €

study score

136 pages, DIN A5, paperback
EUR10,95 / copies

Product information


Sven Hiemke Personal details


Ludwig van Beethoven Personal details


.... Das ... Stück dauert ca. acht Minuten und besticht durch die eindrucksvolle Vertonung der dem Text innewohnenden Kontraste.
Andreas Peterl, Singende Kirche, 2/19


... Das Gelegenheitsvverk eignet sich durch seine weltliche Vorlage in erster Linie für profane Anlässe in Verbindung mit anderen Beethoven-Werken wie etwa der „Chorphantasie“ oder anderen orchesterbegleiteten Chorvverken aus dem weltlichen Bereich. mk
Kirchenmusikalische Mitteilungen der Erzdiözese Freiburg, Mai 2019

Not the right thing?