Georg Friedrich Händel: Judas Maccabaeus

Georg Friedrich Händel

Judas Maccabaeus


First critical edition. The oratorio Judas Maccabaeus is one of George Frideric Handel’s most popular choral works. It was performed over fifty times during the composer’s lifetime and was one of his first works to be performed in Germany (1772). The frequent performances given by Handel himself resulted in a particularly large number of reworkings, reflecting local conditions. This new edition therefore offers the work in two performable versions: firstly, the version of the first performance in 1747, and the one from the last oratorio season during Handel’s lifetime (1758/59). This makes available all the choruses and arias which Handel ever wrote for Judas Maccabaeus. Reflecting the latest Handel research, the edition is based for the first time throughout on Handel’s conductor’s score, thereby eradicating not only long-perpetuated mistakes, but also providing clarity about which pieces were actually performed by Handel. By contrast with the Chrysander edition obligatory until now, the aria "Father of heav’n" which introduces Part III is included here in its original, longer version.


full score

316 pages, 25 x 32 cm, paperback
EUR75,00 / copies

vocal score

232 pages, 19 x 27 cm, paperback
EUR23,95 / copies

choral score

56 pages, DIN A4, without cover
EUR12,50 / copies
Available from 20 copies
from 20 copies 12,50 EUR
from 40 copies 11,25 EUR
from 60 copies 10,00 EUR

set of parts, complete orchestral parts

23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR446,00 / copies
  • consisting of
    1 x set of parts, harmony parts, 2 x Bassoon 1 and 2, 1 x flute 1, 1 x flute 2, 2 x horns 1 and 2, 1 x oboe 1, 1 x oboe 2, 2 x recorders 1 and 2, 4 x Trumpets 1-3 and timpani (55.063/09)
    each: 163,00 €
    5 x individual part, violin 1 (55.063/11)
    each: 15,50 €
    5 x individual part, violin 2 (55.063/12)
    each: 15,50 €
    4 x individual part, viola (55.063/13)
    each: 15,50 €
    4 x individual part, basso continuo (55.063/14)
    each: 23,90 €
    1 x individual part, organ (55.063/49)
    each: 49,90 €

individual part, organ

132 pages, 23 x 32 cm, paperback
EUR49,90 / copies

Product information


Felix Loy Personal details

Songwriter / Librettist

Felix Loy Personal details
J. J. Eschenburg Personal details


Georg Friedrich Händel Personal details


Die Neuausgabe von Felix Loy, zu der auch das vollständige Aufführungsmaterial erhältlich ist, stellt konsequent alles zur Verfügung, was Händel hierzu komponiert hat.
Juan Martin Koch
, nmz, Juni 2018


Loy’s lucidity of thought is matched by Carus’ presentation – every page is a joy to behold.

choir&organ, November/December 2018