Antonio Vivaldi: Credo

Antonio Vivaldi


RV 591


The Credo belongs to that large group of church works which Vivaldi composed in Venice between 1713 and 1717 for the Ospedale della Pietà, then his primary place of employment. The composition, conceived solely for choir and strings, is characterized by a two-layered formal design: a continuous, basic motivic idea, i.e., a constant rhythmic impulse with rapid tone repetition builds an instrumental layer, while on the other hand the writing for choir renders the text in a blocklike structure in chordal declamation. This structure will only be abandoned briefly in the concluding section of work, where the text "Et vitam venturi saeculi" is embedded in a concise fugue.


This work is now available in carus music, the choir app!



full score

36 pages, DIN A4, paperback
EUR15,95 / copies

vocal score

24 pages, 19 x 27 cm, paperback
EUR8,95 / copies

choral score

16 pages, DIN A4, without cover
EUR5,20 / copies
Available from 20 copies
from 20 copies 5,20 EUR
from 40 copies 4,68 EUR
from 60 copies 4,16 EUR

set of parts, complete orchestral parts

23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR55,00 / copies
  • consisting of
    5 x individual part, violin 1 (40.004/11)
    each: 3,00 €
    5 x individual part, violin 2 (40.004/12)
    each: 3,00 €
    4 x individual part, viola (40.004/13)
    each: 3,00 €
    4 x individual part, violoncello/double bass (40.004/14)
    each: 3,00 €
    1 x individual part, organ (40.004/49)
    each: 9,50 €

individual part, organ

12 pages, 23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR9,50 / copies

Product information


Antonio Vivaldi Personal details


Diese dramatische vierteilige Vertonung des Credo ist ein überraschendes Werk. Der deklamierende Chor im homophonen Stil und die durchdringenden, ostinaten Motive der Violinen im ersten und vierten Satz wirken erregt und unruhig. Zwischen diesen Sätzen steht ein sanftes 19-taktiges „Et incarnatus est“ und ein berauschendes „Cruxifixus“. Die letzten 25 Takte des „Et resurrexit“ bilden eine exquisite kurze Amen-Fuge.
Toccata 7/2003