Charles Gounod: Requiem in C major

Charles Gounod

Requiem in C major

CG op. Posth.


Charles Gounod composed the present Requiem under the impact of the death of his 4-year-old grandson, Maurice. According to legend, death overtook him as he was finishing the last details of this work. In 1895 it was published posthumously in various arrangements by his pupil Henri Busser. The work was heard in an impressive performance on the occasion of the first anniversary of the death of the composer in St. Madeleine, under the direction of Gabriel Fauré and was highly praised in the contemporary press. The version for large orchestra (Carus 27.315) was first published in Spring 2011 in a critical edition. Version for small orchestra. In order to make the work accessible to a wider public Carus has presented an arrangments for choir and organ (Carus 27.315/45). An additional version for a small group of instruments is in preparation. The vocal and string parts are identical to the large version. In addition the oboe, clarinet and horn, as well as an independent organ part are employed.

A look inside


full score

120 pages, DIN A4, paperback
EUR43,00 / copies

set of parts, complete orchestral parts

23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR86,00 / copies
  • consisting of
    3 x individual part, violin (27.315/11)
    each: 4,20 €
    3 x individual part, violin 2 (27.315/12)
    each: 4,20 €
    2 x individual part, viola (27.315/13)
    each: 4,20 €
    2 x individual part, violoncello (27.315/14)
    each: 4,20 €
    2 x individual part, double bass (27.315/15)
    each: 4,20 €
    1 x set of parts, harmony parts, 1 x clarinet, 1 x horn, 1 x oboe (27.315/59)
    each: 25,00 €
    1 x individual part, organ (27.315/99)
    each: 25,80 €

individual part, organ

28 pages, 23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR25,80 / copies

vocal score

44 pages, 19 x 27 cm, paperback
EUR13,50 / copies

choral score

16 pages, DIN A4, without cover
EUR5,50 / copies
Available from 20 copies
from 20 copies 5,50 EUR
from 40 copies 4,95 EUR
from 60 copies 4,40 EUR

Product information


Zsigmond Szathmáry Personal details


Charles Gounod Personal details