Charles Gounod: Requiem in C major

Charles Gounod

Requiem in C major

CG op. Posth.


  • the first critical edition of the last work by Gounod
  • detailed foreword in three languages
  • critical Report with information about the source situation and the edition, and containing the individual readings (alternative readings, etc.)

Charles Gounod composed this Requiem under the impact of the death of his four-year-old grandson, Maurice. According to information handed down, while finishing the details of this work he was overtaken by death. It was published posthumously in various constellations by his pupil, Henri Busser, but the only complete version from the pen of Gounod is the version for large orchestra, which is published here for the first time in a critical edition.
Gounod’s Requiem, unlike many contemporary settings of the Mass of the Dead, is not characterized by darkness and terror. Rather, with all of its trepidation – expressed through a marked chromaticism – an atmosphere of hopeful expectation, of trust in the grace and equity of the divine judge predominates. This confidence finds its expression in the choice of the fundamental key of C major, which is rather unusual for a requiem. The work was given an impressive performance on the occasion of the first anniversary of Gounod’s death in the Parisian church of Sainte-Madeleine under the direction of Gabriel Fauré and it was highly acclaimed by the contemporary press.


full score

136 pages, 25 x 32 cm, paperback
EUR59,00 / copies

vocal score

44 pages, 19 x 27 cm, paperback
EUR13,50 / copies

choral score

16 pages, DIN A4, without cover
EUR5,50 / copies
Available from 20 copies
from 20 copies 5,50 EUR
from 40 copies 4,95 EUR
from 60 copies 4,40 EUR

set of parts, complete orchestral parts

23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR135,00 / copies
  • consisting of
    1 x set of parts, harmony parts, 1 x bassoon 1, 2 x bassoon 2, 1 x clarinet 1, 1 x clarinet 2, 1 x flute 1, 1 x flute 2, 1 x harp, 1 x horn 1, 1 x horn 2, 1 x horn 3, 1 x horn 4, 1 x oboe 1, 1 x oboe 2, 2 x timpani, 1 x trombone 1, 1 x trombone 2, 2 x trombone 3, 1 x trumpet 1, 1 x trumpet 2 (27.315/09)
    each: 49,90 €
    8 x individual part, violin (27.315/11)
    each: 4,20 €
    7 x individual part, violin 2 (27.315/12)
    each: 4,20 €
    6 x individual part, viola (27.315/13)
    each: 4,20 €
    5 x individual part, violoncello (27.315/14)
    each: 4,20 €
    4 x individual part, double bass (27.315/15)
    each: 4,20 €
    1 x individual part, organ (27.315/49)
    each: 3,35 €

individual part, organ

4 pages, 23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR3,35 / copies

Product information


Barbara Großmann Personal details


Charles Gounod Personal details


Die einzige vollständig aus der Feder Gounods stammende Version ist [...] die Fassung für großes Orchester, die bei Carus neu und erstmals in einer Kritischen Edition von Barbara Grossmann präsentiert wird , ihre Hauptquelle ist der postum herausgegebene Erstdruck.
Birger Petersen, Gottesdienst und Kirchenmusik, 3/2012

[...] vorbildlich im Hinblick auf Notensatz als auch durch ein umfangreiches Vorwort, das interessante Einblicke in die Entstehungsgeschichte und Rezeption des Werkes vermittelt.
Kirchenmusik im Bistum Aachen, Mai 2011