Gabriel Fauré: Requiem. Version for small orchestra

Gabriel Fauré

Requiem. Version for small orchestra



The Requiem of Gabriel Faure is now available in two versions: in the symphonic version of 1901 and in the version with small orchestra of 1889. The "symphonic version" of Gabriel Faure's Requiem, published in 1901, was the product of a 13-year compositional process. Starting from the original five-movement form for strings, harp and organ, the composer wrote two additional movements, one after the other, and expanded the instrumentation in various stages for later performances. The present reconstruction of a "version with small orchestra" differs from other such attempts in that for the first time it presents the work not in a mixed version, but rather in the unified form from 1889. This is distinguished from the final version both in musical terms, as well as through the fact that it forgoes the use of flutes, clarinets and bassoons, while employing only two horns instead of four. With a critical Report with information about the source situation and the edition, and containing the individual readings (alternative readings, etc.).


full score

96 pages, paperback
EUR46,00 / copies

vocal score, with attachement

40 pages, 19 x 27 cm, paperback
EUR12,50 / copies

vocal score, without attachement

32 pages, 19 x 27 cm, paperback
EUR10,95 / copies

vocal score, with attachement, XL in large print

40 pages, DIN A4, paperback
EUR17,95 / copies

choral score

12 pages, DIN A4, without cover
EUR4,95 / copies
Available from 20 copies
from 20 copies 4,95 EUR
from 40 copies 4,46 EUR
from 60 copies 3,96 EUR

set of parts, complete orchestral parts

23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR92,50 / copies
  • consisting of
    1 x set of parts, separate instruments (27.311/09)
    each: 26,00 €
    2 x individual part, violin (27.311/11)
    each: 4,50 €
    3 x individual part, viola 1 (27.311/12)
    each: 4,50 €
    3 x individual part, viola 2 (27.311/13)
    each: 4,50 €
    3 x individual part, violoncello 1 (27.311/14)
    each: 4,50 €
    3 x individual part, violoncello 2 (27.311/15)
    each: 4,50 €
    2 x individual part, double bass (27.311/16)
    each: 4,50 €
    1 x individual part, organ (27.311/49)
    each: 11,00 €

individual part, organ

20 pages, 23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR11,00 / copies

Product information


Marc Rigaudière Personal details


Gabriel Fauré Personal details


[...] Konkurrenzlos ist die von Rigaudière rekonstruierte Fassung von Faurés Requiem mit kleinerer Besetzung, die im Carus-Verlag erschienen ist. [...] Manche brieflichen Äußerungen des Komponisten deuten darauf hin, dass diese Fassung ohne Flöten, Klarinetten und Fagotte und mit nur zwei (statt vier) Hörnern seinen Klangvorstellungen noch näher kam als die spätere (wohl auf Drängen seines Verlegers Hamelle angefertigte) sinfonische Version. [...]

Sven Hiemke, Musik & Kirche, Nr. 5/2011