Johann Sebastian Bach: A mighty fortress is our God

Johann Sebastian Bach

A mighty fortress is our God

cantata for Reformation Day

BWV 80


Bach's Reformation cantata, based on what is probably Martin Luther's most famous hymn, evolved over a period of several years. At the beginning was a Weimar cantata for Oculi Sunday 1716, now missing, which was based on the hymn with an instrumental quotation in the opening aria and with the final chorale. In the Leipzig years around 1730, Bach wrote a cantata for Reformation Day using this material. It began with the first verses of Luther's hymn in a simple four-part setting and also included the other verses. Later on, in the 1730s or 1740s, Bach replaced the introductory chorale movement with a chorale setting which was unique, spacious and motet-like in its style; this – uniquely in this respect – incorporated the choral writing in an instrumental canon for oboes and organ continuo. The powerful opening chorus is followed by recitatives and arias which reflect the full breadth of Bach's art of word painting and emotion. One of Bach's most magnificent cantatas, one of the greatest works in the history of music. In addition to the complete performance material the arrangements of movements 1 and 5 (with 3 trumpets, timpani as playing score) by Wilhelm Friedemann Bach are available (Carus 3108089).


full score

72 pages, DIN A4, paperback
EUR27,00 / copies

vocal score

44 pages, 19 x 27 cm, paperback
EUR8,20 / copies

choral score

12 pages, DIN A4, without cover
EUR3,20 / copies
Available from 20 copies
from 20 copies 3,20 EUR
from 40 copies 2,88 EUR
from 60 copies 2,56 EUR

study score

72 pages, DIN A5, paperback
EUR8,00 / copies

set of parts, complete orchestral parts

DIN A4, without cover
EUR85,00 / copies
  • consisting of
    1 x set of parts, harmony parts, 1 x oboe 1, 1 x oboe 2, 1 x oboe 3 (31.080/09)
    each: 12,50 €
    4 x individual part, violin solo + violin 1 (31.080/11)
    each: 3,90 €
    4 x individual part, violin 2 (31.080/12)
    each: 3,90 €
    3 x individual part, viola (31.080/13)
    each: 3,90 €
    4 x individual part, violoncello (31.080/14)
    each: 3,90 €
    2 x individual part, organ (31.080/49)
    each: 18,50 €

individual part, organ

24 pages, 23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR18,50 / copies

set of parts, harmony parts

12 pages, DIN A4, without cover
EUR19,80 / copies

Product information


Klaus Hofmann Personal details

Songwriter / Librettist

Martin Luther Personal details


Johann Sebastian Bach Personal details