Johann Sebastian Bach: Desired ray of light

Johann Sebastian Bach

Desired ray of light

Cantata for the 3rd Sunday of Pentecost

BWV 184, 1724


The Pentecost cantata Desired ray of light BWV 184 is based on a Köthen composition, probably a congratulatory cantata, whose instrumental parts (only these have survived) Bach reused in the Leipzig Pentecost cantata. Only the chorale setting was evidently newly composed. Despite the narrow leeway that the already finished composition left for the librettist, he nevertheless succeeded in crafting a coherent Pentecost text. The fact that the cantata begins with a long tenor accompagnato with two flutes followed by a pastoral duet is surprising. The placing of the chorale not at the end of the work but before the concluding chorus is unusual. Bach was evidently aware of the effect that the ending of this lively movement would have and wanted to retain this in its sacred form as well. The sacred version was first performed on the third day of Pentecost in 1724, probably after a parody version of another Köthen cantata (BWV 173) had already been performed on the second day of Pentecost.


full score

68 pages, DIN A4, paperback
EUR21,00 / copies

vocal score

44 pages, 19 x 27 cm, paperback
EUR6,60 / copies

choral score

8 pages, DIN A4, without cover
EUR3,20 / copies
Available from 20 copies
from 20 copies 3,20 EUR
from 40 copies 2,88 EUR
from 60 copies 2,56 EUR

study score

68 pages, DIN A5, paperback
EUR9,60 / copies

set of parts, complete orchestral parts

23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR62,00 / copies
  • consisting of
    1 x set of parts, harmony parts, 1 x flute 1, 1 x flute 2 (31.184/09)
    each: 6,00 €
    4 x individual part, violin solo + violin 1 (31.184/11)
    each: 3,50 €
    4 x individual part, violin 2 (31.184/12)
    each: 3,50 €
    3 x individual part, viola (31.184/13)
    each: 3,50 €
    4 x individual part, violoncello/double bass (31.184/14)
    each: 3,50 €
    1 x individual part, organ (31.184/49)
    each: 14,80 €

individual part, organ

24 pages, 23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR14,80 / copies

Product information


Reinhold Kubik Personal details

Continuo realisation by

Paul Horn Personal details


Vernon Wicker Personal details


Johann Sebastian Bach Personal details