Johann Sebastian Bach: Now it is good, that I am leaving

Johann Sebastian Bach

Now it is good, that I am leaving

Cantata for the Sunday Cantata

BWV 108, 1725


The cantata "Es ist euch gut, dass ich hingehe" [It is well that I go forth] BWV 108 for Cantate Sunday is one of the cantatas composed on texts by the Leipzig poetess Christiane Mariane von Ziegler with which Bach concluded his second annual cycle of cantatas after he had abandoned the annual cycle of chorale cantatas at Easter 1725. The text contains two sayings by Jesus which are taken directly from the Sunday gospel reading (John 16:5-15). The quotation opening the cantata was set by Bach as a bass aria with solo oboe d’amore; it breathes tranquility and assurance. The second quotation, however, is set as an extended choral fugue in three sections; it forms the center of the cantata. The free text surrounding the biblical quotations is divided into two arias in which the emphasis is on melodic lines; there is only one single recitative, the original text of which was substantially abridged by Bach. A four-part chorale concludes the cantata.


full score

68 pages, DIN A4, paperback
EUR15,95 / copies

vocal score

40 pages, 19 x 27 cm, paperback
EUR6,20 / copies

choral score

16 pages, DIN A4, without cover
EUR3,50 / copies
Available from 20 copies
from 20 copies 3,50 EUR
from 40 copies 3,15 EUR
from 60 copies 2,80 EUR

study score

68 pages, DIN A5, paperback
EUR9,60 / copies

set of parts, complete orchestral parts

23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR65,00 / copies
  • consisting of
    1 x set of parts, harmony parts, 1 x oboe d'amore 1, 1 x oboe d'amore 2 (31.108/09)
    each: 5,20 €
    4 x individual part, violin 1 (31.108/11)
    each: 3,00 €
    4 x individual part, violin 2 (31.108/12)
    each: 3,00 €
    3 x individual part, viola (31.108/13)
    each: 3,00 €
    4 x individual part, violoncello/double bass (31.108/14)
    each: 3,00 €
    1 x individual part, organ (31.108/49)
    each: 15,00 €

individual part, organ

20 pages, 23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR15,00 / copies

Product information


Reinhold Kubik Personal details

Continuo realisation by

Paul Horn Personal details


Vernon Wicker Personal details

Songwriter / Librettist

Christiane Mariane von Ziegler Personal details


Johann Sebastian Bach Personal details