Johann Sebastian Bach: O God, from heaven look on us

Johann Sebastian Bach

O God, from heaven look on us

2nd Sunday after Trinity

BWV 2, 1724


Bach composed the cantata "O God, from heaven look on us" BWV 2 for the 2nd Trinity Sunday 1724 as the second cantata of the annual cycle of chorale cantatas. It is based on Martin Luther’s rewriting of Psalm 112. The opening movement is one of a group of cantata opening movements which are not concertante but kept entirely in the motet style, with the instruments serving only to reinforce the singers. The archaic character of this movement is heightened by the addition of a trombone quartet. The concertante style is all the more significant in the first aria for contralto, solo violin and continuo. The first secco recitative represents a special feature: two fragments of the chorale are woven as arioso into the recitative, both in text and melody; futhermore, they are also taken up canonically by the continuo.


full score

48 pages, DIN A4, paperback
EUR13,95 / copies

vocal score

36 pages, 19 x 27 cm, paperback
EUR6,70 / copies

choral score

12 pages, DIN A4, without cover
EUR3,20 / copies
Available from 20 copies
from 20 copies 3,20 EUR
from 40 copies 2,88 EUR
from 60 copies 2,56 EUR

study score

52 pages, DIN A5, paperback
EUR7,20 / copies

set of parts, complete orchestral parts

23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR73,00 / copies
  • consisting of
    1 x set of parts, harmony parts, 2 x 2 oboes, 1 x trombone 1, 1 x trombone 2, 1 x trombone 3, 1 x trombone 4, 1 x trumpet (31.002/09)
    each: 13,00 €
    4 x individual part, violin solo + violin 1 (31.002/11)
    each: 4,00 €
    4 x individual part, violin 2 (31.002/12)
    each: 4,00 €
    3 x individual part, viola (31.002/13)
    each: 4,00 €
    4 x individual part, violoncello/double bass (31.002/14)
    each: 4,00 €
    1 x individual part, organ (31.002/49)
    each: 9,80 €

individual part, organ

20 pages, 23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR9,80 / copies

Product information


Reinhold Kubik Personal details

Continuo realisation by

Reinhold Kubik Personal details

Songwriter / Librettist

Martin Luther Personal details


Johann Sebastian Bach Personal details