Johann Sebastian Bach: Stay with us, for it draws on toward evening

Johann Sebastian Bach

Stay with us, for it draws on toward evening

Easter Monday

BWV 6, 1725


Bach composed the cantata Stay with us, for it draws on toward evening BWV 6 for Easter Monday 1725. In fact, it is certain that a chorale cantata had been planned for that feast day, but for some unknown reason, the annual cycle of chorale cantatas broke off just before Easter 1725. For BWV 6, Bach fell back on a text by an author whose texts he had already set numerous times in his first Leipzig annual cycle of cantatas (which are conspicuous by their ever constant structure and use of two chorale settings). From the gospel for Easter Monday, the story of the Emmaus disciples, only the disappearing daylight and the fear of being left alone are made the subject of discussion. A truly magnificent choral movement opens the cantata. The first chorale for soprano and violoncello piccolo, which Bach later included in his "Schübler-Choräle," is also well-known outside of the cantata.


full score

64 pages, DIN A4, paperback
EUR13,95 / copies

vocal score

32 pages, 19 x 27 cm, paperback
EUR6,20 / copies

choral score

12 pages, DIN A4, without cover
EUR3,20 / copies
Available from 20 copies
from 20 copies 3,20 EUR
from 40 copies 2,88 EUR
from 60 copies 2,56 EUR

study score

64 pages, DIN A5, paperback
EUR8,50 / copies

set of parts, complete orchestral parts

23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR54,00 / copies
  • consisting of
    1 x set of parts, harmony parts, 1 x oboe 1, 1 x oboe 2, 1 x oboe da caccia (31.006/09)
    each: 6,80 €
    4 x individual part, violin 1 (31.006/11)
    each: 3,20 €
    4 x individual part, violin 2 (31.006/12)
    each: 3,20 €
    3 x individual part, viola solo + viola (31.006/13)
    each: 3,20 €
    4 x individual part, violoncello solo + violoncello (31.006/14)
    each: 3,20 €
    1 x individual part, organ (31.006/49)
    each: 9,50 €

individual part, organ

16 pages, 23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR9,50 / copies

Product information


Reinhold Kubik Personal details

Continuo realisation by

Reinhold Kubik Personal details


Jean Lunn Personal details


Johann Sebastian Bach Personal details