Johann Sebastian Bach: Thy will, O Lord, be done for me

Johann Sebastian Bach

Thy will, O Lord, be done for me

Cantata for the 3rd Sunday after Epiphany

BWV 73, 1724


In 1724, Bach composed the cantata "Herr, wie du willt, so schicks mit mir" [Lord, as you will, do unto me] BWV 73 for the third Epiphany Sunday. Like in some other cantatas from the first annual cycle, the opening movement contains a part for corno which would in fact have been unplayable on an instrument of that era – probably also a reason why Bach allocated this part to the organ in a repeat performance (both variants can be performed using the Carus edition). The unusual choral movement, interrupted by recitatives, is based quite substantially on a short four-note motive which is introduced by the horn; at the end of the chorus, the choir sings it to the words "Herr, wie du willt" [Lord, as you will] – an avowal which also quite substantially characterizes other movements of the cantata.


full score

48 pages, DIN A4, paperback
EUR11,95 / copies

vocal score

24 pages, 19 x 27 cm, paperback
EUR5,70 / copies

choral score

8 pages, DIN A4, without cover
EUR2,60 / copies
Available from 20 copies
from 20 copies 2,60 EUR
from 40 copies 2,34 EUR
from 60 copies 2,08 EUR

study score

48 pages, DIN A5, paperback
EUR7,20 / copies

set of parts, complete orchestral parts

23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR65,00 / copies
  • consisting of
    1 x set of parts, harmony parts, 1 x horn, 1 x oboe 1, 1 x oboe 2, 1 x trumpet (31.073/09)
    each: 9,00 €
    4 x individual part, violin 1 (31.073/11)
    each: 3,00 €
    4 x individual part, violin 2 (31.073/12)
    each: 3,00 €
    3 x individual part, viola (31.073/13)
    each: 3,00 €
    4 x individual part, violoncello/double bass (31.073/14)
    each: 3,00 €
    1 x individual part, organ (31.073/49)
    each: 12,50 €

individual part, organ

16 pages, 23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR12,50 / copies

Product information


Reinhold Kubik Personal details

Continuo realisation by

Paul Horn Personal details


Jean Lunn Personal details


Johann Sebastian Bach Personal details