Anton Bruckner: Requiem in D minor

Anton Bruckner

Requiem in D minor

WAB 39


Anton Bruckner composed his Requiem in D minor at the young age of 24 in memory of a friend of his father’s who was his patron. The work was greatly influenced by the Viennese classical style. He revised the work at the age of 70 in 1894 and held it in high regard throughout his career, even though his setting never enjoyed the popularity of similar works by Mozart or Verdi in the concert repertoire.

 The new edition now published represents the revised version, which can be regarded as a very personal, and at the same time impressive compositional testimony to Bruckner's artistic development on his journey towards becoming the great church musician and symphonist.

Bruckner set the text of the Requiem Mass in a relatively compact form in terms of extent and scoring. The range of compositional colors stretches from Alpine-influenced writing for male voice choir (Hostias), to a five-part choral movement (Sanctus) and an unaccompanied movement (Requiem), to movements with choir and soloists.


full score

84 pages, 25 x 32 cm, paperback
EUR42,90 / copies

vocal score

60 pages, 19 x 27 cm, paperback
EUR17,50 / copies

choral score

24 pages, DIN A4
EUR10,95 / copies
Available from 20 copies
from 20 copies 10,95 EUR
from 40 copies 9,86 EUR
from 60 copies 8,76 EUR

set of parts, complete orchestral parts

23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR114,50 / copies
  • consisting of
    1 x set of parts, harmony parts, 1 x horn, 1 x trombone 1, 1 x trombone 2, 1 x trombone 3 (27.320/09)
    each: 12,95 €
    6 x individual part, violin 1 (27.320/11)
    each: 6,25 €
    5 x individual part, violin 2 (27.320/12)
    each: 6,25 €
    4 x individual part, viola (27.320/13)
    each: 4,75 €
    2 x individual part, violoncello (27.320/14)
    each: 4,75 €
    2 x individual part, double bass (27.320/15)
    each: 4,75 €
    1 x individual part, organ (27.320/49)
    each: 14,95 €

individual part, organ

20 pages, 23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR14,95 / copies

Product information


Anselm Eber Personal details


Anton Bruckner Personal details