Camille Saint-Saëns: Messe à quatre voix

Camille Saint-Saëns

Messe à quatre voix

op. 4, 1856


Carus-Verlag is now publishing this early work by Camille Saint-Saëns in a critical new edition. Among the sacred works by Saint-Saëns there are just two settings of the mass: the "Messe de Requiem" op. 54 from his middle period (1878), and the Mass op. 4 dating from 1856. This was first performed on 21 April 1857.

Camille Saint-Saëns was a devoted follower of historicism as part of the reform movement in French church music. This is more evident in the mass published here than anywhere else. The model for this work is the unison "Messe Royale" by Henry DuMont (1610–1683). Saint-Saëns combined its Gregorian style in a convincing manner with contemporary elements of Romantic composition, an expressive chromaticism, which determines the harmonic progression.

Alongside the orchestral forces, the Grand Orgue plays an important role. Used as a solo instrument, it is an equal partner in the composition.


The organ part included the performance material of the present edition consists of the Organo I (grand orgue) and Organo II (ripieno) parts, so that in cases where a second instrument is unavailable, the parts can also be performed by a single organ.


Version for organ (Carus 27.060/45) in preparation


full score

112 pages, 25 x 32 cm, paperback
EUR79,00 / copies

vocal score

60 pages, 19 x 27 cm, paperback
EUR25,95 / copies

choral score

20 pages, DIN A4, without cover
EUR9,95 / copies
Available from 20 copies
from 20 copies 9,95 EUR
from 40 copies 8,96 EUR
from 60 copies 7,96 EUR

set of parts, complete orchestral parts

23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR159,00 / copies
  • consisting of
    1 x set of parts, harmony parts, 1 x English horn 1, 1 x English horn 2, 1 x flute 1, 1 x flute 2, 1 x harp, 5 x trumpet 1, 2 and trombones (27.060/09)
    each: 46,00 €
    5 x individual part, violin 1 (27.060/11)
    each: 7,00 €
    5 x individual part, violin 2 (27.060/12)
    each: 7,00 €
    4 x individual part, viola (27.060/13)
    each: 7,00 €
    5 x individual part, violoncello (27.060/14)
    each: 7,00 €
    1 x individual part, double bass (27.060/15)
    each: 7,00 €
    2 x individual part, organ (27.060/49)
    each: 18,00 €

individual part, organ

32 pages, 23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR18,00 / copies

Product information


Dieter Zeh Personal details

Piano reduction by

Sven Hiemke Personal details


Camille Saint-Saëns Personal details