Johann Sebastian Bach: God's own time is the time appointed

Johann Sebastian Bach

God's own time is the time appointed

Actus tragicus. Trauermusik

BWV 106, 1707/1708


The Actus tragicus or Gottes Zeit ist die allerbeste Zeit BWV 106 remains one of Bach’s best-known and most admired works, one which continues to resonate to this day – a "work of genius such as even great masters seldom achieve" (Alfred Dürr). The cantata is one of the earliest known vocal works by Johann Sebastian Bach. It was written during his time at Mühlhausen, probably in 1707, when Bach took up the position of organist at the Divi Blasii Church. A possible occasion for its composition may have been the funeral of the mayor of Mühlhausen, Adolph Strecker.
The short, slow "Sonatina" with two recorders, two gambas and continuo gets the listener into the mood of the character of the cantata. This instrumental combination is unique in Bach’s vocal output, but could derive from a central German tradition.
This new edition is a critical-practical edition which combines both the latest discoveries in Bach research with a detailed Critical Report as well as addressing current questions on performance practice.


full score

44 pages, DIN A4, without cover
EUR17,50 / copies

vocal score

32 pages, 19 x 27 cm, paperback
EUR6,60 / copies

vocal score, XL in large print

32 pages, DIN A4, paperback
EUR9,95 / copies

choral score

12 pages, DIN A4, without cover
EUR3,20 / copies
Available from 20 copies
from 20 copies 3,20 EUR
from 40 copies 2,88 EUR
from 60 copies 2,56 EUR

study score

44 pages, DIN A5, paperback
EUR7,50 / copies

set of parts, complete orchestral parts

23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR32,00 / copies
  • consisting of
    1 x set of parts, harmony parts, 1 x recorder 1, 1 x recorder 2 (31.106/09)
    each: 6,00 €
    2 x individual part, viola da gamba 1 (31.106/11)
    each: 2,80 €
    2 x individual part, viola da gamba 2 (31.106/12)
    each: 2,80 €
    3 x individual part, violoncello/double bass (31.106/13)
    each: 2,80 €
    1 x individual part, organ (31.106/49)
    each: 10,00 €

individual part, organ

12 pages, 23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR10,00 / copies

Product information


Peter Thalheimer Personal details

Continuo realisation by

Paul Horn Personal details


Jean Lunn Personal details


Johann Sebastian Bach Personal details


... Wohl zu den bekanntesten Kantaten Bachs zählt BWV 106, die Trauerkantate „Actus tragicus", welche durch ihre eigentümliche Besetzung mit je zwei Blockflöten und Gamben eine besondere Stellung einnimmt. Die vorliegende Ausgabe gibt die ganze Partitur in F-Dur wieder und umgeht somit die Probleme mit der Transposition des Stimmenmaterials. ...
Kirchenmusik im Bistum Limburg, 1/2014

[...] Notenbild in gewohnter Carus-Qualität [...]
Singende Kirche, Heft 3, 2013