Johann Michael Haydn: Missa Sancti Raphaelis

Johann Michael Haydn

Missa Sancti Raphaelis

MH 87


Michael Haydn composed three of his masses in honor of the holy archangels – St Michael, St Gabriel, and the Raphaelismesse in honor of St Raphael now published. By avoiding the use of vocal soloists, it is one of the genre of "Missa in pieno". Four trumpets and two ad lib oboe parts added later by the composer give the work a festive sound in the baroque tradition. At the same time, elements of the 'sensitive style' feature too. The Gloria and Credo exist in two settings, a short version with polytextual passages and a longer version arranged by Haydn himself. The Carus edition, based on authentic performance material in St. Peter's Monastery in Salzburg, contains both versions, with the longer version published here for the first time.

A look inside


full score

68 pages, 25 x 32 cm, paperback
EUR41,00 / copies

vocal score

44 pages, 19 x 27 cm, paperback
EUR17,80 / copies

choral score

24 pages, DIN A4, without cover
EUR9,95 / copies
Available from 20 copies
from 20 copies 9,95 EUR
from 40 copies 8,96 EUR
from 60 copies 7,96 EUR

set of parts, complete orchestral parts

23 x 32 cm
EUR81,00 / copies
  • consisting of
    1 x set of parts, harmony parts, 1 x clarino 1, 1 x clarino 2, 1 x oboe 1, 1 x oboe 2, 1 x timpani, 1 x trumpet 1, 1 x trumpet 2 (54.087/09)
    each: 25,00 €
    3 x individual part, violin 1 (54.087/11)
    each: 6,00 €
    3 x individual part, violin 2 (54.087/12)
    each: 6,00 €
    3 x individual part, bass instrument (54.087/13)
    each: 5,50 €
    1 x individual part, organ (54.087/49)
    each: 18,00 €

individual part, organ

20 pages, 23 x 32 cm, without cover
EUR18,00 / copies

Product information


Armin Kircher Personal details

Preface writer

Ulrike Aringer-Grau Personal details


Johann Michael Haydn Personal details