Camille Saint-Saëns: Messe à quatre voix

Camille Saint-Saëns

Messe à quatre voix

Arrangement for soli, choir and 1-2 organs

op. 4, 1856


Among the sacred works by Saint-Saëns there are just two settings of the mass: the Messe de Requiem op. 54 from his middle period (1878), and the Mass op. 4 dating from 1856. This was first performed on 21 April 1857. 

As an alternative to the original version with large orchestra and Grand Orgue, Carus-Verlag also published the version for organ made by Saint-Saëns’s contemporary Léon Roques. It contains the original part for grand orgue as well as an organ arrangement of the orchestral writing in score notation, but also provides for the possibility of a performance with just one instrument. The vocal parts (for soloists and choir) are identical with the edition of the original version, so that the vocal score and chorus score of that version can be used.

A look inside


full score, Arrangement for choir and 1-2 organs

72 pages, DIN A4, paperback
EUR42,50 / copies

vocal score

60 pages, 19 x 27 cm, paperback
EUR25,95 / copies

choral score

20 pages, DIN A4, without cover
EUR9,95 / copies
Available from 20 copies
from 20 copies 9,95 EUR
from 40 copies 8,96 EUR
from 60 copies 7,96 EUR

Product information


Léon Roques Personal details


Léon Roques Personal details


Camille Saint-Saëns Personal details