Complete editions and Selected works

One very important area for Carus is the supervision of historical-critical complete editions and editions of selected works; these are developed in collaboration with renowned edition institutes such as the Bach-Archiv Leipzig, the Max-Reger-Institut, the Heinrich-Schütz-Archiv in Dresden or the Centro Studi Giacomo Puccini in Lucca.
  • Heinrich Schütz

    The Stuttgart Schütz Edition is being published in cooperation with the renowned Heinrich-Schütz-Archiv of the Hochschule für Musik Dresden.

  • Johann Adolf Hasse

    The Hasse Works Edition (HWA) is intended to serve both as an impeccable text for muicologists and as basis for practical performance.

  • Wilhelm Friedemann Bach

    The Edition of the Works of Wilhelm Friedemann Bach is edited by the Bach-Archiv Leipzig in the context of the Bach-Repertorium, a research project of the Sächsische Akademie der Wissenschaften zu Leipzig

  • Gottfried August Homilius

    Gottfried August Homilius left a large legacy of compositions. The music of the Kantor of the Kreuzkirche in Dresden was very popular during his lifetime and exceptionally widely distributed. Since 2006 Carus has, in collaboration with the Bach-Archiv Leipzig, published the Selected works edited by Uwe Wolf.

  • Giacomo Puccini

    The works of Giacomo Puccini will be presented in a scholarly critical edition. Upon petition to the Italian Ministry of Culture by the “Centro Studi Giacomo Puccini,” the institute responsible for this edition, the project has been recognized as an “Edizione Nazionale.” It receives a significant amount of its support from the Ministry.

  • Josef Gabriel Rheinberger

    The Rheinberger Complete Edition, initiated by the director of the Rheinberger-Archiv in Vaduz, Harald Wanger, and by Günter Graulich, founder of Carus-Verlag, in 1987, laid the foundation for the increasing popularity which Rheinberger's works are enjoying in the international world of music. The Rheinberger Complete Edition is published under the auspices of the Principality of Liechtenstein.

  • Max Reger

    In January 2008 the Max-Reger-Institut (MRI), located in Karlsruhe, Germany, has initiated the first ever scholarly-critical edition of works by Max Reger. The Reger-Werkausgabe (RWA) is sponsored by the Mainzer Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur and with its design as a hybrid edition breaks new ground in the editorial techniques. T

  • Helmut Bornefeld

    Beetween 1994 and 2010 Gerhard Bornefeld and Carus published the selected works of the composer Helmut Bornefeld (1906-1990) including his late work.