Josef Gabriel Rheinberger: Organ Sonata No. 6 in E flat minor

Josef Gabriel Rheinberger

Organ Sonata No. 6 in E flat minor

op. 119, 1880


The 6th Organ Sonata, composed in 1880 in E flat minor, was the first of a series of sonatas in Rheinberger’s output which are more strongly symphonic. One of the features they display is the expansion of the previous three movements to a four-movement form. The grand introductory movement is followed by an Intermezzo, a gentle programmatic Marcia religiosa, and a highly effective tightly-constructed fugal Finale.


Separate edition from Vol. 38 of the "Complete Edition" (Carus 50.238/00).

A look inside


full score

24 pages, 23 x 32 cm, paperback
EUR17,50 / copies

Product information


Martin Weyer Personal details


Josef Gabriel Rheinberger Personal details